Diptoe

New Perspectives

Posted in General by diptoe on May 4, 2010

Thank goodness for new perspectives! I just got out of a meeting and am excited about the possibilities that social media brings to the fore. Until this meeting I was focused on using social media mostly for communications and brand awareness, which tells you how new I am at this. I’ve now added fundraising, events, lead generation, and team coordination activities, just to name a few. I’ve used or interacted with social media for most of those things before in my personal life, but for some reason I didn’t think of them when approaching my latest project.

In other news, I’m still sitting on the privacy fence. To be honest I’m not sure I want the world to see my Facebook page, what I like, or to even know that I exist. I’m still not sure of what to think about Facebook’s new features, and what they mean for my privacy. Christina Warren posted a great article about this on Mashable about a week ago.

What about you? What do you use social media for? How do you handle privacy concerns? Let me know in the comments.

*First posted on April 27, 2010 at edgarjd.wordpress.com.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

