Diptoe

The Five-Minute Blog Challenge

Posted in Social Media by diptoe on May 18, 2010

One of the the main problems with running a blog is coming up with content. At least for me. My reasons for not posting include not having anything valuable to say, I’m just adding to the noise, I don’t like writing, it takes too long, I don’t have time, what if my writing makes me look like an idiot, etc. Excuses, all of them.

Then I ran across this post by Ian Lurie. He writes, “…writing uses a part of your brain that’s like a muscle. The more you exercise it, the easier it gets.” The post includes several exercises to help, and inspired a possible solution: the Five-Minute Blog Challenge. The details:

  1. I will write and post at least one update per day.
  2. I will spend only five minutes writing that post (or no longer than 15 minutes).
  3. And I will attempt to do this for one week.

Wish me luck. The weekends might be a tough. Care to join me in the Five-Minute Blog Challenge? Post a comment below if this post inspired you to try it out.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tamara said, on August 4, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    I need to try this 5 minute blog challenge.

    Also for what it’s worth. I’ve always enjoyed and liked your writing and reading through this blog I actually learned some things and thought about some other things. 🙂 That is valuable to me. Kudos.

  2. […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post […]

  3. […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post Seven.” Tagged with: […]

  4. […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post […]

  5. […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post […]

  6. Admitting To Failure « Diptoe said, on October 29, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post […]

  7. […] This post was originally titled, “The Five-Minute Blog Challenge (FMBC), Post […]

  8. […] This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post […]


Leave a Reply

