Diptoe

When Is It Smart To Give Away Two Things For Free?

Posted in General by diptoe on May 25, 2010

When is it smart to give away two things for free?

These days I expect most businesses to have wi-fi access. The only question is whether or not it’s available for public use, and whether it’s paid or free. I refuse to use paid services, so the availability of free wi-fi influences where I spend my time and money.

I am writing this from a hotel room using free wi-fi access provided by Google. Their version of free wi-fi is brilliant – after getting online and agreeing to the terms and conditions, users are given an opportunity to download a free Google product. If I download it, Google wins because another person is using more of their services. The hotel wins because their customers get a free service. And free wi-fi and free Google tool = win for me too. Even if I don’t download the product, Google still got exposure – maybe I’ll download it later.

What do you think? Does free wi-fi ever play a role in your spending habits? Is this a smart move on Google’s part? Let me know. And to answer the question at the beginning of this post: Giving away two things for free is smart when it provides a win for you and me!

35 minutes.

Update: This post was originally titled, “Five-Minute Blog Challenge, Post Six.”


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dave Wilcox said, on May 25, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Free WiFi makes a difference in my spending habits, but in a relatively small way. I will stop in a place that I know has free internet access, like a coffee shop, even if I don’t feel like having coffee. Yet, I will still make a small purchase out of a feeling of obligation and low level gratitude for using some bandwidth.

  2. diptoe said, on May 26, 2010 at 3:30 am

    My spending at coffee shops generally follows the same pattern. I wonder what the ROI is for a place offering free WiFi? Is it worth the expense or should it just be viewed as a value-added cost of doing business?


Leave a Reply

